Q: In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Recently, the issue of rising obesity has become the subject of heated debate. There are several reasons for this phenomenon, such as unhealthy eating habits, and various measures could be taken to alleviate this issue, education about the importance of a healthy diet. In this essay, I will explain the reasons for this undesirable trend, and present some solutions to the problem.

There do seem numerous causes underlying this phenomenon. Perhaps the most oft-cited cause could be over-consumption of fast food. To be more specific, a greater number of people of working age in modern society choose to eat junk food which contains large amounts of fat and sugar so as to manage their busy schedules, leading to weight gain. Another fundamental cause is that the majority of working adults suffer from a lack of time which can be spent on exercise, which exerts a detrimental influence on their health considering that fierce competition in workplaces that forces people to devote a huge amount of time to their work and even extra work deprives them of having a chance to do exercise.

There are, however, several courses of action that the government and companies could take to address the root cause of the problem described above. The most practical solution to this problem is a government-sponsored awareness campaign. An effective advertising campaign could warn of the dangers of obesity and hopefully, raise awareness amongst the public. For example, the UK lobbied their citizens to eat five a day and this resulted in a dramatic drop in the obesity rate. A second feasible solution would be that businesses should limit maximum working hours that would otherwise be dedicated to exercise. This could make it possible for their employees to take exercise.

In conclusion, the aforementioned problems have resulted from various causes suggested above and can be tackled with various steps. If every sector of our society makes a concerted effort, we can combat the problems.