Question : over the last few decades , the media has promoted the image of young thin women as being ideal . What problems has this caused ? What solutions can you suggest to this issue ?

It is true that young slim females have been represented by the media for several decades , as they are an ideal image . It is regrettable that there are certain health and psychological issues which have stemmed from these promotions . I believe that this problem can be tackled taking several measures .

Perhaps the major problem associated with promoting young slender females on the media is related to health issues . Young girls look at them as role models in terms of their appearance , and try to become as slim as these promoted women are . They tend to refuse eating enough amount of food , so that they suffer from certain health problems , such as anemia , vitamin deficiency and lack of energy . The another problem , which has been caused by advertisements on the television , radio , newspapers about skinny female body , is linked to psychological issues . For example , rather overweight women might develop beliefs that they are not attractive enough for males , and therefore they may have low self –esteem . After all , all these issues do have negative effects on females’ performance , ranging from at school ( because they lack of energy ) to social relationships .

Turning to possible solutions , I think the most effective way to deal this problem is to educate people about healthy lifestyle and how dangerous it is to reduce food intake . If girls know about possible dangers to their health , they will probably restart consuming healthily . They also can keep fit doing regular physical exercise if they wish to be thin . The next step would be to reduce the number of advertisements which promote slim female body . As a result , women would not be persuaded that slender body is desirable . In addition , women should also need to understand the fact that having the kind of body shape can be inherited . There are some people who cannot gain weight even though they want , so that there is no need to be unconfident .

In conclusion , promoting thin women on the media , as perfect image for females , causes health and psychological issues among females . This problem can be solved through education and banning advertisements .