The range and quality of food have changed because of technological and scientific advances. Some people think the range and quality of food have improved, while others think these changes would be harmful. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays we hanve various catering products to choose, thanks to the technology development. Some people argue these new scientific-based changes are harmful, while others reckon it is good to improve the range and quality of food. This essay will demonstrate reasons why some particular cohorts dislike those changes but why technology intervening food industry is ultimately superior.

It is acknowledged that there might be unknown side effects to certain people to consume food that has been improved by technology. Every individual has a unique physical condition that is hardly all being considered by scientists when they test the generalarity of a new food product. Furthermore, due to the nature limit of the science, we might not be able to testify every posible negative effect a new food product has. Thus, it needs to be admitted that potential harms do exist.

However, advantages of food science far more overweigh its disadvantages. Implementing technology to widen the range of food, as well as imrpove the quality of food, can be eco-friendly. I will justify my statement with a piece of the latest news from BBC. Scientists are working on producing food only by a small quantity of water, air and electricity. Ultimately, this new kind of food will be able to provide enough and sufficient elements that humans require, such as vitamin and protein. Moreover, it will taste exactly as meat and vegetable. This new food will eventually define the term of "food" again and will save numerous land, water and workforce from agriculture. Therefore, if food could be developed, improved even redefined by technology, there will be less pollution to the earth.

In addition, a large range of food due to scientific advances can alternatively save human's life. For instance, the report says there are more than half population in Yemen are facing shortage of food. Because of it, UN announced they have to double the amount of food offering to Yemen to meet the increasing need. If, hypothetically, the science in Yemen is advanced enough to produce more food and better food within a small space, people there might not be suffering from life-threatened hunger right now.

In conclusion, it is recognized that our level of food science might limit us from noticing any side effects of tech-based food changes. Despite that, those changes are actually more eco-friendly and can save lives. Thus, I completely support science to improve food industry even further.