Reading for pleasure can develop imagination and language skills better than watching TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, with the development of technology, visual media such as videos and pictures have become prevalent. It is said that books are more useful for imagination and language skills than watching TV. I totally agree with this statement, this essay will analyze the reasons.

First of all, it can not be denied that words in books can stimulate the imagination of a person. Novel is a point of the case. Although readers can not see any images which illustrate the content of the book, they can understand its implication by their own view. Moreover, an imaginative person is believed to have better non-linguistic skills than others. According to Johnson’s research, these individuals prefer reading books to watching TV. It involves their brain’s operation, if it is stimulated recently, its function can be improved and make humans become more intelligent and think faster.

Another reason for my opinion is that people have to think and imagine when reading books. It can be explained that readers also need a range of knowledge to understand the substance of books. Therefore, reading books has a more powerful impact on the thinking skills of humans. Although watching television is a good way to learn for people who have difficulty in reading, it is not effective for most individuals.

In conclusion, because of the ability to stimulate creativity and the essential of knowledge to understand the contents, reading books is a more effective way to modify the capabilities of linguistics and thinking. This action should be realized recently to improve personal mental health.