With recent developments in technology like e-books, some people feel that printed media like books, newspapers and magazines will soon be anything of the past. Others feel that these forms of media will never disappear. What is your opinion?

Whenever electronic media and printed media come into view, it has always been a controversial topic. Some people claim that the printed media will soon disappear while others feel that it will not be wiped out of existence. From my perspective, electronic media might be more convenient; however, printed media might never lose its original value for the three following reasons.

On the one hand, despite the digitalized trend of information, the physical form of media will always retain its value. The first reason that might be worth mentioning is that people enjoy its tactile feeling. Interaction with a physical object is always more natural for humans compared to a screen. On the topic of objects, people are always more emotional towards a real object rather than its digital counterpart, therefore printed materials lovers will always be there to support them. Secondly, printed materials have a historical and nostalgic value that no modern technology can compete against. Some ancient manuscripts cannot be translated into digital form accurately. That's why printed media will be kept to preserve those ancient manuscripts. Thirdly, printed media is safer and more suitable for kinds of ages. While it's hard to control the materials that children get access to through technological devices, using the physical form of media will minimize the risk because all printed material should have gone through the process of accreditation and get approval from reliable commissions. Last but not least, the disappearance of printed materials affects individual financial growth. If you can get access to the non-charge electronic media, the publisher or author cannot get their money or wages. If they couldn’t get any money from their materials, it will also affect individual financial growth.

On the other hand, there are some points that make people agree with the replacement of printed materials with electronic ones. One of the most heated points is that printed materials can harm the global environment. The more physical form of media is needed, the more demands for materials of printing. While most of the printed media require cutting down trees, electronic media needs only a stable Internet connection.

In conclusion, I hold a firm belief that each type of material has its own merits and demerits. It depends mostly on how we use and exploit them. Even though printed materials bring us lots of beneficial aspects, electronic media should also be taken into full consideration.