In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as the family roles. What are the changes that have occurred? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

In modern society, there is not only a bulk of the variation in the structure of the family unit but also the family roles. From my perspective, I concur that these familial changes sometimes bring drawbacks.

There are two noteworthy alterations in the family structure and roles. One change is, more people prefer living in the nuclear family rather than the extended one. Owing to the fact that people are push for privacy and independence, the young generation chooses to live in a smaller family or to delay bearing and rearing children. One clear example is in Europe a plethora number of young couples decide not to live with their parents and refuse to have kids to focus on their career path. Another change is that more and more women decide to be single moms, in the light that women have more power and are able to meet the requirements of being family breadwinners, women resolve to live and raise children on their own.

All the above changes are both positive and adverse. On the one hand, those drastic changes have to drop numerous benefits. Initially, young people can get rid of family pressure, especially from their parents. Since they do not live in an extended family, they can step back into the family’s duties and responsibilities. In other words, in Vietnam young people that can decide their own life and follow their dream and hobbies as they do not live with their parents. On the other hand, there are also disadvantages, the most considerable one is the quantity future workforce will be on the wane owing to the fact that the young population rate is reduced. Furthermore, the distance between family members would be expanded while there would be less care and love for children and the elderly.

In conclusion, the changes in family structure and roles can be beneficial in some aspects on the contrary they can also take a toll on others.