In recent years, online education is becoming more and more popular. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon? Use specific details and examples to explain your opinion.

COVID-19 has claimed itself the title of being a nascent, yet, most harrowing problem in the mere beginning of 2020s. The ongoing pandemic hampers various human activities, ranging from transportation to one of the most crucial, if not, quintessential demand, education. Schools have spent most of its time in abeyance ever since the widespread occurred to prevent further viral infections. Therefore, as to make education relevant in such a time, virtual teaching booms in popularity as it proves to be the most efficacious means to deliver lessons. “Online education” is not a novel term to modern man, in fact, it has existed since the internet was invented, yet, possesses myriad benefits. However, there are still demerits that can completely counteract the potential that online education is capable of providing.

As already mentioned, along the numerous advantages we receive from online teaching, the most prominent one has to be its ability of eliminating geographical difficulties. Prior to the pandemic, a number of organizations utilize the internet to transmit courses to countries that either lack educational infrastructures or destitute regions where exorbitant tuition fees are a major drawback. The University of the People has attained a massive breakthrough in online education, wherewith they grant professional courses free of charge for whomever register to the school through its website and this has support the underprivileged individuals to lead a better life. Beside the distance merit, online courses are an accumulative platform where students can access information of whatever fields or subjects they want, making this method of teaching an affordable, yet limitless in terms of learning opportunities.

However good, however beneficial, however convenient online education may be, there will be flaws underlying the observable surface of this approach to enlightenment. In this case, its advantages will become its own demerits. First of all, the vast available information on the internet is a mere decoy to what students expect themselves to find. In other words, the learners will be disorientated from the major they wish to pursue if they keep seeing the more fascinating facts of other fields. This is even more impactful for students whose sole education comes from online, as they lack the advisory roles that provide solid guidelines like schools do. Furthermore, not only scare amount of instruction is prevalent, interactions between tutors and students are almost nonexistent. Only seeing one another through the monitor’s screen, teachers are unable to assure whether or not their students are concentrating on the lessons, therefore, redirecting classes’ attention will now become a burden. This overall decrease productivity in our education, whether it is during the pandemic or when participating in any online classroom.

In the end, online education has nothing to blame, which leaves just the students’ fault on misusing the wonderful means to enlightenment.