In recent years, pressure on school and university students has been increasing and they are pushed to work very hard from a young age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In order to help young people adapt to the increasingly stressful higher education, Teachers and parents nowadays are likely to push children to work diligently as early as possible. In my opinion, this is a positive development.

My first and foremost reason for putting pressure earlier on young minds would be that it can help them better furniture themselves to the fast-faced and highly competitive academic life of future. If students just enjoy their happy study at a young age, many of them would found themselves difficult to adapt to the sudden changes in higher education, from easy and happy learning to a mode of heavy workload and hectic schedule, which in turn might lead to their poor academic performance. By contrast, If children work hard earlier, they would develop various skills including time management skills and skills to alleviate stress, in which way would better equip themselves for future education.

Another benefit of working hard earlier that worth mentioning is that young students could acquire more knowledge through hard working. Young people are at a critical stage of learning information and they actually assimilate knowledge faster than adults. So it is essentially important for them to cherish this phase of life and work harder to achieve their potential. If they are pushed to continue studying after school, they would not spend time hanging out with other fellows, rather, concentrate on their study. When this good diligent study habit is formed, they might be more initiative toward their study and work harder to outcompete other students, and therefore have better academic achievements.

In conclusion, having young people work hard at an early age is beneficial for them to adapt to their future education as well as expand knowledge base.