In recent years, some countries have experienced rapid economic development. This has resulted in much higher standards of living in urban areas but not in the country side. This situation may bring some problems for the country as a whole. What are these problems? How might they be reduced?

Nowadays, it is undeniable that rapid economic growth in some nations lead to the promotion of living standards in the cities while ignoring the countryside can create several issues for an entire country. This essay will address the associated problems and provide solutions to solve them.

Moving to the problem side, higher living standards in urban areas may lead to the divide between metropolitan and countryside, yet there can be overcrowding and strain on urban infrastructure. Firstly, the widening urban- rural gap is a drawback as the disparity in living standards between urban and rural areas can lead to a significant divide between the two regions. As a consequence, it will create imbalances of social, economic and political, causing tension and conflicts between different regions within the country. For example, people living in provinces from the north of Vietnam like Thai Binh have lost a large number of workers due to the attraction of the standard of living in Hanoi, which has unbalanced the economy and society here, causing underdevelopment. Second, overcrowding and strain on urban infrastructure can be another issue as concentrated urban development without corresponding infrastructure improvements can lead to overcrowding, strain on resources and increased pressure on urban constructions such as housing, transportation and public services. This can result in decreased quality of life for urban dwellers.

On the other hand, there are some solutions to solve these problems such as letting the countryside have access to basic services or to invest in transportation for urban areas. Firstly, accessing simple services could be a good choice to make the gap between urban and rural areas closer. To exemplify, by ensuring that rural areas have access to quality education, healthcare, clean water, sanitation and other basic services, living conditions in the countryside will be improved and residents can be provided equal job opportunities to bridge the gap between two regions. For example, Hokkaido, a region in Japan, has applied this strategy and as a result, it has improved the quality of life of local people and made the distance between this area and other cities closer. Second, transport investment could be an effective way to deal with the overload and strain on urban areas as it will make the traffic less crowded and make the environment cleaner. To elaborate on it, we should improve public transportation systems such as electric cars or rapid transit buses to provide efficient and accessible alternatives to private vehicles to reduce carbon footprint in the atmosphere and save more travel space. Vietnam has applied to use public buses instead of using private motorbikes and cars and this has reduced the amount of pollution significantly.

To conclude, I repeat that the rapid growth of the economy in the cities is associated with the gap between urban and rural areas and the overload of cities infrastructure so the state must regulate policies and solutions to solve these issues.