In recent years, some countries have experienced rapid economic development. This has resulted in much higher standards of living in urban areas but not in the country side. This situation may bring some problems for the country as a whole. What are these problems? How might they be reduced?

The gap between urban areas and rural regions is prevalent in many parts of the world. This situation, which is thought to stem from the global trend of swift economic advancement results in the inequality in living conditions of both aforementioned areas. This essay aims to shed the light into the root causes of this issue and present several probable solutions

On the one hand, the causes leading to the differences in living standard can be attributed to the large wave of migration from rural areas to big metropolitan areas for better wages along with lack of investment for basic infrastructure in the countryside. First and foremost, the increasing rate of urbanization motivate large rural population, whose age tends be young to relocate to big cities in hope of better jobs, which in turn guarantee lucrative income. As the results, the remaining rural inhabitants are unable to muster a robust economy, which is vital for the initiation of infrastructure build-up. For example, the villages in far-away regions in Japan are filled with abandoned homes and lackluster facilities as their inhabitants have already left for the cities leaving behind old residents. Moreover, as the urban areas attract an enormous pool of population, which promise better and more visible results of modernization, investments from government and investors tend to favor these densely populated regions instead of the countryside. Take the urbanization of Hanoi as an example, the suburban districts, whose population density is significant received more investments for various facilities such as commerce, housing than their counterparts in more rural areas

On the other hand, the solution to this imbalance can be initiated through numerous notions such as economic vitalization programs and the fairer distribution of investment stream. Specifically, the stimulation of rural economy would resume the demand for large workforce, which consequently halts the trend of urban migration. Hence, as the people perceive the prospect of building up their life in their birthplace, their drive for relocation would eventually subside. As the result, once the rural regions can sustain their population as well as its promising livelihood, the living standard would inevitably improves. Moreover, the fairness in investment ultimately ensures the equitable chances of development for all areas so that the lacking regions would receive the assistance they require for development. Therefore, with equal share of aids, all regions in the country would have the necessary resources to enhance their situation regardless whether they are cities or countrysides.

In conclusion, the imbalance in living standard between cities and countries takes the roots from the population drain by unequal career prospect and lack of investment. Yet, rural economic vitalization and equal investment can mitigate this situation.