In recent years, some countries have experienced very rapid economic development. This has resulted in higher standards of living in urban areas but not in the countryside. What problems could this cause? How could these problems be reduced?

Nowadays, in some countries, a greater living standard in cities compared to rural areas has been driven by the rapid economic progress. This essay will outline the consequences of this problem as well as the way to resolve it.

First of all, one of the detrimental effects is that the rapid number of urbanization can contribute to generate zero population growth in suburban areas as happened in China. Along with poor essential services (education and healthcare), this drives people to leave their agriculture background inducing lower food security which reflect to economic turmoil in the long run. Furthermore, an outburst of population in central areas arouses both greater work competition and higher unemployment rate. Most of developed countries, UK and USA, deal with shocks in migration fears which are greatly elevate incidence of crime rate.

Regarding the aforementioned results, a remarkable solution can be implemented through focusing on the equity of rural development, prominently sustainable agricultural practices and food systems. United Nations presents that supporting fundamental resources ranging from mechanical tools to crop protection materials can assist farmers to achieve profitable markets along with better subsistence level. Moreover, improving local public administration is also needed to increase capability and stakeholder participations. Presented by the Local Development Strategies, some of private investments can assist local communities to embrace their agrotourism infrastructures fostering endogenous potential.

To sum up, the rapid growth of economic development in cities reveal several remarkable effects including metropolitan overpopulation and higher rate of unemployment. However, this can be tackled by enhancing effective rural development and intensive role of stakeholder participations.