Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

There is no doubt that the excessive used of plastic materials made for bottles and goods proves harmful to the environment. This essay will outline the consequences of this problem as well as the way to resolve it.

First of all, one of the detrimental effects is that plastic pollution poses a significant threat to the wildlife transporting toxic additives and pathogens which may end up on marine life, then fed by aquatic animals. WWF estimated that dolphins with complicated breathing systems mostly consume plastic debris – bag ballooned with water resembling squid a lot. Furthermore, excessive plastic wastes can contaminate soil fertility, resulting in lower productivity of local plants. Reported by Environmental Sciences Europe, non-biodegradable nanoparticles immensely affect soil structure and water-holding capacity to serve good plant nutrients, thereby harming food supplies to meet consumer demand nationally and globally.

Regarding the aforementioned results, a remarkable solution can be implemented through sustainable innovative policies as enacted by Singapore’s government. Along with Zero Waste Masterplan, they require residents to sort waste categories collecting huge tons of combustible wastes which are incinerated in waste-to-energy (WTE) plant producing their daily electricity. Moreover, people can be part of agents in environmental change by accustoming eco-friendly behaviour. National Geographics has presented that to increase the responsibility of global population, using both reusable bottles and shopping bags can cut down the amount of land and ocean garbage.

To sum up, some plastic categories threatening the mother nature reveal several remarkable effects including the disruption of ecological balance and human food stock. However, this can be tackled by implementing environmental regulation and accelerating public awareness on recycling programs.