In recent years, there has been growing interest in the relationship between equality and personal achievement.Some people believe that individuals can achieve more in egalitarian societies. Others believe that high levels of personal achievement are possible only if individuals are free to succeed or fail according to their individual merits.

What is your view of the relationship between equality and personal success ?

The issue of equality and achievement has occupied people throughout history. Some argue that because people vary in terms of talent and initiative, inequality is inevitable. The job of the government is to ensure freedom for each person to achieve his or her personal best. Others believe that because wealth and therefor opportunity tend to concentrate in hands of a few, the government must actively redistribute resources. While I believe there is some truth in both views, the latter is likely to yield greater life satisfaction for the majority.

Societies that are very unequal in terms of income and resources are often credited with great achievements. The United States, for example, has many successful individuals in business and science. Its universities, among the world’s expensive, rank among the top ten in the world and employ a disproportionately large number of Nobel-prize winners. However, such countries also often produce many people without qualifications, and poor prospects.

More egalitarian countries of ten achieve higher average rates of success. Finland and Korea, for example, which invest heavily in free public education for all, tend to rank high in international comparisons of literacy and numeracy rates. Although such countries do not always produce many internationally successful ‘superstar’. They tend to have a high proportion of moderately successful people in terms of employment and income. More importantly, they have lower rates of absolute deprivation and underachievement.

In short, if we allow freedom for individual to achieve their potential, some inequality is inevitable. However, success usually generates wealth, which can be passed from one generation to another resulting in inequality of opportunity regardless of individual merit. It, therefor, makes sense for society to level the playing field.