In recent years, there is a trend of ‘responsible tourism’, which pays attention to both local culture and the environment. However, there are still people who think that ‘responsible tourism’ is impossible to implement in reality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, there is a tendency for people to travel overseas with a concern for the local cultural and environmental values of the destination country or ‘responsible tourism’. Nevertheless, a school of thought argues that this type of tourism cannot be applied realistically. From my perspective, I disagree entirely with the statement.

It is indisputable that the implementation of responsible tourism into society is an uphill struggle. The key rationale is that tourists may not have good behaviours towards the people and local surroundings. As a consequence, not only is the regional environment devastated but also the people will have a bad impression of foreign tourists. However, this situation could be alleviated by educating those citizens on the method to preserve local habitats before the trip. For example, they could be instructed not to litter disorderly in reservation areas. With this approach, they could visit the destination country with respect for the provincial people and habitat.

Similar to the above-mentioned phenomenon, to encounter the fact that several individuals criticize and treat cultural and religious attractions poorly, some solutions could be implemented. First, it is necessary to teach tourists the rules and restrictions of those spots before excursions or long-term travels. For instance, travellers could be educated on the use of appropriate clothes during a visit to pagodas or mosques. Therefore, citizens might have an adequate amount of information to prepare for inspections of religious and cultural attractions. In addition, residents could also be invited to go to presentations about the cultural history of the region to acquire a reasonable amount of information about their upcoming destinations. Having this activity will help them understand and respect the provincial culture more so that they would attempt not to harm the culture by any means.

In conclusion, I hold a firm belief that while there are numerous struggles in order to bring responsible tourism into real life like overseas tourists’ lack of awareness of the provincial environment and culture, such measures could be applied to tackle the issue, in which the instructions on how to protect the environment and culture is effective to deal with the problem.