In some countries, schools are teaching English to primary school children. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, there have been several countries having students taught English in primary institutes. From my perspective, I concur that its merits surpass its demerits.

On the one hand, it is transparent that language disorders will be triggered. The major reason is that young learners are exposed to learning a second dialect in parallel with the first language at primary schools. Henceforth, they may misuse the language or have difficulty expressing the idea in each language. Furthermore, the problem of a heavy workload for juveniles could be exacerbated. Owing to the fact that not only do children do the assignments in other subjects but also in English, their leisure time would be seized in coordination with overexertion.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that kids could have access to a wider range of knowledge acquisition from a young age through English learning at primary institutions. In fact, because English is a worldwide dialect, numerous qualified and highly recommended books for expanding children’s knowledge are written in this language. Thus, they could broaden their horizon via the English that they study in classes. In addition, young generations could be proficient in English. As juveniles are efficient in terms of information retention speed and the fact that there is a long period of time to learn them, they would eventually use English like natives.

In recapitulation, although there are several downsides to learning English at school, I hold a firm belief that its benefits outweigh its limits. I hope there would be more acknowledgement towards this issue in the future.