Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In contemporary civilization, while one school of thought holds that informing citizens through history is impractical, another one claims that learning these fields has the ability to gain more understanding of the current societies’ state. Personally, I side with the latter view.

On the one hand, it is transparent that there is a fraction or even none for individuals to absorb information from the former times. One of the reasons is that several conclusions from past events cannot be applied to the modern world. For instance, in the past, cavalry was essential for numerous key battles, but now it does not. Hence, there might be some historically outdated set of data that is invaluable. In addition, these historical stories could be fabrications or myths. That is owing to the fact that those that are passed on orally for generations cannot be proven true. Taking Christopher Columbus as a notable example, he is commonly thought of as a pioneer in discovering the American continent, but it turns out that a Viking actually inhabited Canada decades ago. Consequently, those incorrect beliefs could mislead citizens to recognise the data improperly.

On the other hand, absorbing history also has a plethora of benefits. Firstly, history provides us with layers of experience through millennials so as not to be trapped in the identical mistakes that happened in the past. As a result, it is easier to mitigate the possibility of being in extremely troubling situations. Furthermore, it is claimed to have more profound insight into the evolution of countries by history. In fact, the cultural, economic and political aspects of a country, which is deemed to be complex, can be encapsulated to be simple via folks. Henceforth, the world’s current state could be inclusively grasped.

In conclusion, while it is justifiable that history has a minimal amount of information to tell, I hold a firm belief that its merits surpass its demerits.