Any country should be able to sell goods to other countries without the restrictions of the government. Do you agree or disagree?

In modern civilisation, it is widely believed that commodities can be traded between nations without governmental rules. From my perspective, I completely disagree with the statement.

There are several reasons why authorities’ control is necessary for international trade. First, there would be a noticeable risk of diseases when foreign goods are transported into domestic markets. That is because when no international products are being inspected thoroughly, infected commodities like meat and fish could be imported. As a result, diseases could explode at any time, which can cost numerous citizens’ lives. Taking COVID-19 as an example, in the very first period, the fact that Chinese goods such as pork and rice are not regulated has resulted in overwhelming quantities of infected and dead cases worldwide.

Besides, an international free market could trigger fierce competition in the national market. The key rationale is that an absence of taxes and tariffs would make foreign items superior to local ones in terms of price and variety. In the long run, domestic products will not be preferable in comparison to those made overseas; therefore, if local enterprises could not produce competitive items, they would yield little profits or even go bankrupt. Consequently, the nation's economy will be outperformed and manipulated by foreign commodities.

In conclusion, I hold a firm belief that without governmental supervision, there would be many harmful influences like medical risk and the manipulation of international goods.