As machines have become more sophisticated, more and more jobs and tasks involving physical hard work can be done automatically. Do the positive effects of this trend outweigh the negative effects?

In contemporary society, an increasing number of occupations and missions with hard physical work could be completed not manually by the sophistication of machines. From my perspective, I think the beneficial side of the trend surpasses its detrimental effects.

On the one hand, there are also several demerits which are triggered by the existence of technologically advanced appliances. First of all, the workforce’s wages could be plunged. The main reason is that employees are only necessary for monitoring, maintaining and providing intelligent machines with ingredients. For example, since the bubble tea makers nearly do all tasks, what staff would normally do is just pour substances and control the temperature to compose bubble tea, and then serve it to customers. Apart from this consequence, labourers could also be in danger of being unemployed. The key rationale is that when cutting-edge engines occupy a large work proportion, there would be a noticeable quantity of workers who do not have any missions to complete. Thus, people’s living standards would have deteriorated.

On the other hand, I concur with the school of thought that complex machinery could support working individuals involved in difficult labouring tasks. That is because they are faster and more accurate than humans. For example, all weaving factories in Vietnam in which there is a participation of engines have better productivity than manual production sites. As a result, it would enhance manufacturing efficiency and companies will be more modernized. In addition, the employees’ amount of workload could be alleviated. As hi-tech machines are in confrontation with complicated tasks, workers would just be responsible for daily facile assignments such as examining machines’ states; thus, their stress might be relieved and replaced by comfort and relaxation at work.

In conclusion, while there are a number of downsides like the workforce’s salary decrease and unemployment, I hold a firm belief that the merits of accuracy, speed and alleviation in labours’ duties are superior to its weaknesses.