Reducing global environmental damage should be handled by governments rather than individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Global environmental damage is the most pressing problem in the world nowadays. However, when it comes to tackle the problem, people are divided in their opinions. In many circles, it is argued that governments’ role is crucial in reducing the environmental damage, while others put emphasis on individuals’ attempt. While I accept the notion that individuals can reduce environmental damage, I believe the governments can play a paramount role in improving environmental damage.

Environmental damage can be slowed and stopped with practical actions that yield a healthier, cleaner atmosphere. Actually, it is up to each of us, as individual, to take steps to slow down and eventually stop the damages through everyday awareness of our energy use, and pay attention to the ways we can save electricity and minimize fossil fuel usage. For example, using electricity to lighting our home, driving a car, heating our room and throwing away trash all lead to greenhouse gas emission that causes environmental damage severely. We can reduce emissions through simple actions like switching to energy-efficient lighting, improving the efficiency of home appliances, reducing energy required for heating, improving vehicle fuel-efficiency, and so on.

But, the governments could certainly make more effort to reduce environmental damage. They could pass laws to limit the emission from factories and industries and gradually they can force to the companies to use renewable energy from solar, water, or wind power. In addition to this, the government can set forth a national blueprint for a clean energy economy. Actually, they can outline a national climate action plan that puts emphasize on several key ways to reduce environmental damages. Apart from that, since environmental damage is a global issue, they can work for an effective international climate treaty negotiation so that international efforts can be ensured in reducing environmental damages worldwide.

To reiterate, as individuals we can contribute by taking steps to reduce our personal carbon emissions. But fully address the threat of global environmental damage, we must need actions from the government to support and implement a comprehensive set of climate solutions.