Reducing working hours is an effective solution to reduce employment

Having a secure source of income has become an arduous task in this modern world. Since the rate of unemployment surged, some developing countries face a serious crisis. I believe that reducing working hours to thirty-five per week is an effective solution. This essay will not only highlight the limitations of this approach but also describe the advantages that outweigh the disadvantages.

To commence with, there are some merits of this approach at the top of that is employee get time to relax. To be precise, nowadays every person spends ample hours in the workspace. Due to which they do not get enough time to spend with their family. Likewise, if working hours will be reduced, people can able to spend more time with their children. To epitome, in the UK various studies concluded that people who spend most of their time at work have higher stress levels as they do not get adequate time to relax and do not involve in physical activities.

On the other hand, despite having advantages there are some drawbacks of this approach, the pay scale alters according to working hours. To elaborate, the company will pay wages according to hours which a person utilises in their organisation. Likewise, if the hours will be reduced for the job, the wages will be reduced simultaneously. As a result, workers not able to fulfil their desires because of insufficient salary.

To conclude, although there are few limitations of reducing working hours, the merits outweigh the demerits. Hence, reducing works hours to generate more jobs are not an appropriate to measure to reduce the unemployment rate.