Research into new types of medicine and treatments are essential for improving health and deal- ing with diseases. Who do you think should fund these researches: private companies, individuals or governments?

In this day and age, humanity existence is consistently threatened with new infectious diseases and health issues and the well-being of people owes much to the unprecedented innovations of medical studies. Hence, a controversy of whether these projects should receive investment from enterprises, citizens or authorities is brought into discussion and the following essay will argue that every forces in the society should finance this sphere.

On the one hand, private firms and people can financially benefit from medical breakthroughs. In particular, by devising the cure for commonplace diseases or dysfunctions, enterprises and private investors can make lucrative earnings from selling drugs or providing therapy service. In fact, medicine production is a multi-billion-dollar industry and is increasingly prevalent in every part of the world. Moreover, the growth of health threats among the public can significantly raise the sale of medical commodities which makes allocating money into the studies for new treatment methodology and bettering the conventional ones is increasingly appealing to financiers.

On the other hand, governments also need to hold accountable for maintain the social welfares by funding the medical research. In specific, financial assistance from authorities is conducive to ensure that communal medical system is available for everyone. For instance, the underprivileged cannot afford to go to private hospitals and their lives may rely on community facilities or non-profit organization like the Red Cross. In contrast, medical treatment industry from private financiers may be a profit-greedy business whose inventions will likely to be kept exclusively to gain even more revenue; thus, dignitaries should be able to operate health projects independently.

It therefore can be concluded that in order to maintain the well-being among general public, research and medical studies to cure diseases should receive sufficient financial support from private investors, companies to authorities. At the end of the day, everyone in society need to join hand for a healthier future.