Is mental strength important for success in sport or is it more important to be strong and fit for success in sport? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A controversy debate was brought up about whether or not physical strength eclipses the role of mental capacity in the pursuit of a triumphant sports career. Both sides of the issue will be discussed to clarify my opinion that a successful athlete needs to have both of these essential attributes.

For the most part, physical strength is of paramount importance in sports for a host of rationales. To achieve the final goal, it is crucial for sport players to exert themselves in extreme training programs which requires a durability. For instance, only the most enduring runners can be able to finish a 100-kilometer run and hopefully to reach the trophy. Moreover, recovering from a traumatic injury may demand certain physical strength and efforts that only a powerful and diligent individual can succeed.

On top of that, it takes concentration and gumption attain a decorated athletic career. In specific, mental capacity holds accountable for having a strong will and keeping a cool head. It is common that many sportsmen relinquish their passion owing to the frustration they countenance during the prolonged journey to achieve the final goal. The validated athletes who rewritten world records are those having the strongest will and determination to pursue a path that could be full of pains and temptations. Having to perform their best in front of millions of audiences and the high anticipation of admirers is immensely stressful. A prominent instance is that a soccer player may have to withstand the distraction from the noisy crowd to make a goal in the ultimate penalty shot is a mental game itself.

It therefore can be concluded that the physical and mental credentials are equitably imperative to achieve triumph in sports tournaments when one’s strength and concentration are being challenged.