In this day and age, many individuals advocate the view that people dictate the number of members in their household by themselves as opposed to be interfered by authorities. To the best of my knowledge, regulators should completely respect the autonomy of their citizens; however, some attempts should also be made to ensure the stability of population with a subtle approach and this essay will outline the rationales.

For the most part, planning their own family size is a basic right of every household. Given that each couple have a distinct financial condition and lifestyle, deciding whether to have babies or not or how many kids to have in the future is entirely depend on people autonomy and wish. In particular, a young couple with a hectic schedule cannot hold accountable for raising many children owing to their time and material foundation are not sufficient. Besides, bringing up a human being, parents shoulder an immense responsibility to suffice their daily necessity and attention which the government can neither provide nor compensate. Thus, the size of a family should be totally tailored and designed by the couple themselves.

At the mean time, regulators are responsible for managing the population to uphold the living standard. In specific, among the populous countries, the communal infrastructure and social welfares do not be able to accommodate effectively. In contrast, having an old population is problematic due to the shortage in human resources which may result in insufficient domestic production. Hence, authorities play an essential role in coming up with initiatives to control the number of new borns by introducing some compensations with regards to support big families or encouraging tight-knit households with fewer members by diplomatic approach not by fines or regulations.

It therefore can be concluded that having the right to dictate one’s household size is undeniably advisable; nevertheless, government should also play their part of maintain a stable growth of population and ensuring the living standard for dwellers.