Research carried out recently have pointed out that there is significant rise in the number of annual business conferences and employee training conducted online. There are both viable merits and demerits about this new way of working, thanks to the prevalent of information technological update in every company. In this essay, I will look at both sides of the argument.

Let us start by looking at the advantages of the notion of online meetings in general. First of all, by not having to travel all the way to the business conducting point, a significant amount of time and cost are saved. This also applies to training activities, especially in the case of global firms and organizations. Without the internet, most of their foreign employees would have to take part in a dead long period of training time if online training was not available. For example, my company's branch in Vietnam arranges meetings with the directors in Japan via Skype. Furthermore, since the meetings and training sessions are online, all the learning and business materials are uploaded and downloadable through a few clicks. Not to mention, people can attend the discussions while they are at home or in office, further satisfaction and convenience are reached.

On the other hand, some types of training require participants' direct involvement, For example, in the case of on-the-job training for hotel service, waiters are given a set of orders to follow by their hotel's manager to ensure adequate customers' satisfaction. Hence, waiters can not acquire these skills online but offline. In addition, by being presentable in every meetings, it shows high commitment to the job offered. Also, the cultural value of the organization should be demonstrated face-to-face to trainees with passion and enthusiasm in order to create or change the mindset to fit in with the company's goal.

In conclusion, there are different facets to be considered whether every firms and company should adopt this new way of business conduct. Personally, I think it is the best if managers can find the balance between online and offline conferences to achieve the ideal job performance.