Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison would commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

Most criminals re-offend after being released from prison. There are several reasons for this, and solutions can be taken to tackle this problem.

On the one hand, prisons serve no purpose other than retaining offenders for a certain time. Prisoners are kept with other criminals and they just learned about what the others have done or the techniques to commit crimes without being caught. As all that they learned were the negatives, when out of prison, they become a worse version of themselves and can even commit more serious crimes, let alone reoffending. Moreover, the way society treats former offenders is also a major factor contributing to their reoffending. On their release, because of their criminal records, they face social exclusion and find it hard to have a job. Therefore, they will resort to crimes as a way of earning a living.

However, there are several ways to solve this problem. Firstly, the government should incorporate rehabilitation into prisons. By doing this, prisoners will be re-educated and re-trained, thus making them become knowledgeable and possess certain useful skills for making a living after their served period. Secondly, the authority should support and keep an eye on them at the same time after they are out in society. Prisoners should be offered jobs and supported to make them become a productive member of society. Also, they should be followed for a certain time to make sure that they would not re-offend.

In conclusion, what criminals learned from prisons and the way society treats them have a major impact on their behaviors. Therefore, solutions with regards to these areas will effectively address the problem of reoffending