As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is a growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have on the environment? What measures could be taken to solve the problem?

The demand for flights is increasing as the number of tourists and travelers is rising. This essay will explain that more aircrafts in the sky lead to air pollution and raising the price of air tickets is one of the solutions to tackle this problem.

Air travel is going up as more people want to visit other countries to explore more about other nations. In addition to this, a plane takes much less travel time compared to other modes of transportation, therefore people like to take flights to reach their destination within a nation and internationally. As a result, more planes fly and use a much larger amount of fuel in comparison to other vehicles. This causes the emission of harmful gases which pollute the air and causes damage to the protective ozone layer of the earth. For example, according to The New York Times, in the last decade aeroplanes have contributed more than 40% of total air pollution as compared to 20 years ago when it was only 7%.

The one measure to deal with this issue is by increasing the price of air tickets. When the prices of air travel will go up, fewer people will buy tickets and as a result, fewer people will travel by flight. This will decrease the number of flights in the air which ultimately causes less air pollution as less jet fuel will be used. This is to say that less burning jet fuel means less release of dangerous gases in the air. For instance, in The Netherlands, in the last 5 years, less than 15% of people have travelled internationally as the government has doubled the air ticket price to control air travelling.

To conclude, although travelling by plane saves time and brings people together internationally, however, the air pollution caused by jet fuel is one of the major problems and this can be solved by increasing the cost of air tickets.