As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people traveling, there is a growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have on the environment? What measures could be taken?

The development of the travel and hospitality industry leads to the proliferation of tourists every year. Although tourism is the main stream revenue in many countries, it faces up with multiple accusations of environmental problems.

There are many reasons why airline industry wreaks environmental havoc. First, aircraft which are not run by bio fuels create negative impact on nearby communities because of their emissions. With the aim of maximizing their bottom line, airline aviation is not willing to replace coal and gas plants. Second, the more tourists use airplane as a time-saving transportation in the pursuit of entertainment, the more demand for coach services which bring airport passengers to their homes. The density flow of coaches on the street releases a huge amount of carbon dioxide which causes atmospheric pollution.

There are many solutions proposed to develop this lucrative industry while ensuring that our environment is fresh and clear. First, the government can raise fuel costs. As a result, it forces the airline to rethink and find other ways to consume cheap clean power or reduce fights served for the airline passengers. Second, the government also can institute ban on aircraft serving the first class or premium class. Because people who fly the first class have a bigger carbon footprint than others, the less luxury passengers experience the less harmful to the environment.

Although airline industry is one of the titans of national economy, it leaves many devastating consequences for ecosystem. Focusing on developing local travel is another way to decrease the number of airport passengers.