Many people believe that parents are not as close to their children as they used to be. Suggest some reasons why this could be true

Nowadays, a good relationship between children and their parent is almost non-existent. Although many people believe that poor communication stems from stubborn children, this problem starts from multilateral factors.

Teenager is the turbulent and vulnerable phase which brings about physical and psychological change in children. First, with the child’s increasing in cognitive and social skills, he goes beyond the home setting. He doesn’t want to talk to his parents anymore because he thinks that their parents do not understand his lifestyle and their parents think that their child is not interested in conversation between parents and child anymore. Second, some parents are alcoholics or addicts might physically and verbally abuse their child. As a result, child does not want to see their parents anymore with an afraid to be beaten or criticized and shouted at himself again.

Works takes precedence over everything in our life, as a result, many parents have to set aside their children. Parents neglect the children’s needs and the kids learn not to expect anything from their parents. As a result, the kids have to live independently and parents do not have any time spent in their children, which totally freezes the communication between them. Moreover, if any of these needs are not taken care of, then children begin to disrespect their parents. Such kids tend to disobey their parents and break the rule, which wanes parents’ interest in talking to kids.

More parents do not want to spend time in talking to their children like they used to do because of many reasons. A good relationship between parents and child can lay the foundation for the child’s personality and overall behavior.