Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poorer countries rather than financial aid.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To help erase the poverty line in many developing countries, developed countries usually donate money as a main form of assistance. However, this approach is not always effective in practice, and some suggest that affluent countries should provide support in other forms than money. Personally, I completely agree with the ineffectiveness of financial aid, for there are a high probability of being misused and a number of more constructive types of foreign aid available.

To start with, it is of the high chance that leading bodies in the recipient countries will use the money package on strayed purposes. Wrongful leaders can consume money for their own good by investing in their personal fortunes. In other cases, in order to superficially drive economic growth, some governments might neglect the poverty-stricken population and steer the fund into more profitable businesses. For example, the Brazilian government invested a hefty sum of money into building the facilities needed to host the World Cup 2014; even if the involved financial and manpower resources were capable of lifting the living conditions of half of its slum areas.

As well as that, some third world nations have yet to have the adequate resources and technical know-how in eradicating the roots of poverty, including but not limited to: poor education, conflict, and the outdated healthcare system. As a case in point, a majority of children in Africa have suffered from malaria, a notorious disease that causes high fevers and sometimes death. Meanwhile, the rest of the world has already had malaria vaccination since the start of the 21st century, yet few places in Africa have the access to this type of disease prevention. Medical aid in this scenario is more proper to raise the livelihoods of millions of destitute people than does a financial aid. Therefore, wealthy nations should consider other means of help such as medical aid, military aid, and voluntary aid, depending on the urgent situations in the underdeveloped and developing nations.

To sum up, I believe that donating money to poor countries is not the optimal strategy to cut world poverty, since the donation can be misused and is too peripheral to solve the roots of the problem.