A rise in the standard of living in a country seems to only benefits cities rather than rural areas. What problems might this difference cause? How might the problems be reduced?

It is true that the rapid development of an integrating economy leads to people have the higher standard of living, whereas the gap between cities and rural areas is wider than the past. There are various negative effects because of these developments, and there are numerous solutions to tackle these problems.

On the other hand, the fast- changing economy of the developed regions created some predominant problems. To begin with, dwellers in the undeveloped region tend to migrate to the big cities with the aim of better lives, such as seeking the high paid jobs or better education and health services; therefore; the cities seemed to be over- populated leading to traffic jam, environmental pollution, and the pressure on infrastructure and services. For instance, traffic jam in the developed cities at peak hours was obvious because of these high population rates. In addition, a widening gap between urban areas and countryside made the people living in the rural areas feel dissatisfied and unfair. To be specific, the city dwellers had countless destinations to entertain as theaters, shopping malls, and parks; while the people who lived in remote areas were rather hard to make ends meet every day.

On the other hand, there are some suggestions to narrow the gap between urban and rural areas. Firstly, the Government should invest a great deal of money to build the public works as hospitals, school, and amusement parks to fulfil the rural dwellers’ needs. Also, it will reduce the pressure on infrastructure in the developed cities. Secondly, the authorities should give the appropriate policies to attract business to invest on constructing the industrial zones in the undeveloped regions. Thus, residents in these regions will tend to come back their hometown because it creates more jobs for them with higher salaries.

In conclusion, the higher standard of living in the cities has negative effects on the small areas, so it seems to be that many solutions of the Government to resolve these situations.