Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy, and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past few years, the amount spent on graduation through universities has increased rapidly and tending to rise more gradually. On the other hand, the employment prospects for graduates is significantly decreasing. Therefore, some people thinks that universities should teach practical courses instead of theoretical arts subjects so that there can be maximum opportunities of employment. I tend to disagree with the above statement and in this essay I will discuss some of the advantages and disadvantages for both types of subjects.

Degree Courses like practical, technology are currently in demand. As per today’s job requirement, practical subjects weighs more compared to Art/theoretical subjects. People often study technical courses these days which helps them for their employment with great salary packages.

Whereas, Arts subject lacks the skills required for jobs in the market today. But, subjects like philosophy and history also has same role in the one’s education as some other practical course .For Example, History subject makes us to understand the ancestor’s cultures, Art, values. If these kind of subject will be excluded then future generations might lack their culture, values any other artistic skills and we can expect them to be a robot instead of human.

To Sum up, we need to balance between educational subjects and should not exclude Art subjects as it as plays pivotal role in means of education same as the practical courses. However, as per trending skills in demand universities should try to more inculcate practical subjects along with the theoretical one which will assist students to become proficient and increase their chances of employment.