Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach art subjects like philosophy and history, and only offer practical courses that maximize chances of employment.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that universities should only provide practical majors to enhance employability instead of teaching arts subjects due to the increasing tuition and limited graduate job opportunities. In my opinion, social and cultural courses have a vital role in both society and individuals; hence, they cannot be eliminated.

First, it is advisable that artistic subjects such as history, music and drawing are taught in college because of their contribution to society. To be more precise, knowledge of culture and history provides learners with practical understanding which is useful in a range of careers as much as science, medicine, and business subjects. For example, by studying history, people have chances to gain in-depth knowledge about aspects such as culture, warfare, and economy in the past, which is a foundation for future innovation. Besides, philosophy is considered as a foundation of all basic knowledge and can help generate crucial ideas. Many great people such as the ancient Greek mathematician, physicist Aristotle, Plato and Pythagoras who set a foundation for human knowledge were also philosophers.

The second opinion I would like to mention is that the humanities can help develop critical thinking. To be more specific, studying these subjects can make students become active thinkers who are able to analyze problems, evaluate different options and make reasoned decision. These skills are transferable to many different careers. Also, loving emotions can be enhanced, which are beneficial for the mental well-being of an individual. For instance, researching works of music or writing can nurture sympathy, understanding and sharing emotions. Therefore, alongside science, medicine, and business, the role of humanity subjects is also undeniable.

In conclusion, while some people believe that science, medicine, and business subjects should be taught in universities, I am strongly convinced that artistic courses are also essential because of their significant influence on both individuals and society, and that educational institutions should broaden the accessibility of these arts majors towards students.