Advertisements are becoming more and more common in our everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, in the advent world of information and technology, advertisements have become a ubiquitous part of our daily life. Undoubtedly, this has several merits and downsides simultaneously.

On the one hand, there are two main benefits that advertising provides to the customer. To begin with, the popularity of advertising campaigns in terms of different products, whether via traditional methods of advertising such as using banners and printed newspapers or via television commercials and social networking sites, can enhance the variety of choices for buyers, which means they are more likely to approach, compare, and select their appropriate products. As a result, this improves their satisfaction and eventually contributes to raising their living standards. Furthermore, there are numerous advertisements that publish great content and marketing plans to attract potential customers. For example, the financial report of Vinfast - a well-known Vietnamese automobile brand - in 2022 shows that their newly branched product raised brand awareness by 10 percent and favorability by 8 percent. This not only attracts a large number of brand-loyal customers but also creates a skyrocket in Vinfast’s profit. This shows the significant role of advertising not only with the customer but also with the entrepreneur.

On the other hand, the widespread of advertisements brings negative influences that cannot be ignored. First, more and more advertisements are created for commercial purposes regardless of their quantity and quality. This means the producer can trick their customers to buy poor-quality products which badly affects their satisfaction with the stuff. Besides, it can be seen that internet users are overwhelmed by the colossal number of unwanted advertising which worsens their online experience. For instance, advertising can suddenly appear while they are watching YouTube videos or playing online mobile games, which is annoying.

In conclusion, it can be seen that advertising despite the significant role it provides to the public, there are some issues about advertising that need to be tackled.