Rising University fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Unemployment of youth is one of the major concerns of 21st century. People are not getting jobs that matches with their academic background. We can see many graduates searching for jobs. It is clear that lack of qualification is not the problem, increasing competition is the real issue. Some people believe that instead of teaching arts subjects like history and philosophy, more practical degree courses should be offered so that employment can be maximized. However, I cannot completely agree with this statement.

It is a misconception that students pursuing arts subjects will eventually become jobless. Although there are plenty of opportunities for graduates in history or philosophy, in most cases, students lack the right skill to take up the job. The curriculum should be modified in such a way that students acquire the capacity to practicalize the knowledge they have gained.

Another aspect of the considered problem is that learning a practical degree course will not guarantee a job. Practical knowledge without understanding the basic theory is sometimes useless. Also, the youth must be open minded to accept all kind of works, because every job has it's own reputation and value. Dedication and hard work will always reward you with progress.

To conclude, if you excel in what you learn, you will never be left unemployed. It doesn't matter what course you study, the world will never run out of opportunities. Even though our society is a challenging place to actualize someone's dreams, if you have the confidence to think of a startup business, chances are that you will succeed.