In many schools and universities, the favourite subjects of males are science while females often choose arts and literature. There are some reasons for this tendency and I believe that students should change this trend.

One of the most important causes affecting choices of students is hobby. Boy’s interest are usually discovering the new things and they have a good analytical ability. Therefore, they tend to study science like Physics, Maths, Chemistry and so on. Meanwhile, personality of girls is more careful and patient than boys so they are interested in subjects that require meticulousness such as arts and literature. On other hand, career orientation influences to students’ choice of majors. For example, the favourite jobs of male are technology, construction and engineering, which require candidates with a specialized science. However, females must spend more time on caring their families so they often choose simple job like human resources, medical care and education.

In my view, students need to have the freedom to choose favourite subjects without depending on gender. Many elements are considered to decide what to study and what to work such as hobbies and personalities. The fact that there are many successful female scientists like Marie Curie and Barbara McClintock. Besides, when people have to do things that they do not like, they will always feel tired.

In conclusion, although girls often study literature and boys usually want to learn science subjects, students should join subjects that they love because it affects to their future.