Some believe that pupils’ intelligence and social development is more affected by their teachers than their parents. I totally disagree with this belief for some reasons.

<!--break-->

There are several reasons why parents play the main role in their child’s social development and intelligence state. First of all, students spend about 5 to 8 hours a day at school. Therefore, most of their time passes in the company of family at home. Parents allocate this time to children’s upbringing, through playing, watching movies, sharing in house work activities, etc. children also spend the first few years of their lives at home before they attend kindergarden. Whereas these years have an essential role in shaping the personality of children and developing their abilities as well. Hence, they observe their parents behavior as the first role models and they imitate this behaviors when they enter the society.

Secondly, presence of pupils with different intelligence and social development skills, is another evidence to illustrate the parental influence on their mentality. Although all the students in a single class are learnt the same lessons by the same teacher, they show variegated levels of social development and intelligence, which is doubtlessly rooted in their parental figures. However, the effect of a good teacher can not be ignored. Since different teachers can make different outcomes to the same group of pupil, nevertheless choosing a good school with good teachers for students is another evidence of parents influence on their children’s intelligence and social development.

To sum up, I personally believe that parents are more influential on children’s intelligence and social development than teachers. There are several reasons for this claim, firstly children mostly spend time with their parents, secondly parents make important decisions of their children’s life which would have deep effects on their behavior.