School should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is suggested that foreign language should not be a compulsory subject at schools. From my opinion, I totally disagree with this viewpoint due to a myrias of benefits that can be brought in by studing a new language

On the one hand, languages contain more than just vocabularies and grammars, they can open pupils’ minds by their uniqueness like culture or history, which can never be found in their own country. In detail, apart from communication, studying a language also allows children to discover more about the world, broadens their horizon and forms them a holistic viewpoint. For example, by learning English, students gain deeper insights into American life, specifically the way they communicate or the food they eat

On the other hand, being acknowledged about more than only one language is of paramount importance in this globalized world. Because information is written in different languages, so knowing more than one language can assist students in their process of accumulating knowledge. In a long term, this could be significantly helpful for their occupation, because the world is increasingly globalized, the need for people who can speak many languages would be higher. Therefore, the more languages you know, the higher your job opportunity is

To conclude, although many people may not advocate the idea of teaching foreign languages at a must at schoolda. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with this statement not only because of massive advantages can be gained through a language but also the possibility of failing behind colleagues if students are not taught any foreign langue