School should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some people are of the opinion that forcing kids to study a new language at school is not a recommended practice. I totally agree with the suggestion because forcing children may bring about detrimental consequences

When children must learn a new language early in life, they may experience extra pressure that hinders their development. It is scientifically proven that children are very prone to mental pressure when learning new knowledge unwillingly. Consequently, when children are forced to study a new tounge, it may affect their mental health negatively, leaving many counterproductive impacts afterwards. For example, languages are very complex to learn and some children may suffer from anxiety disorders when they have to deal with that complexity

Additionally, forcing children to acquire linguistic knowledge too early in life would affect their proficiency in their own mother tounge. In detail, it is promblematic for pupils to stay balance between two languages at the same time, they would be confused and mix them up regularly. As children are still often struggled with their own languages, forcing them to learn a new toungue could jeopardize their learning process. In the worst case, some children prefer to speak in foreign languages may have to cope with lacks of communication knowledge even in their daily converstations

To conclude, although forcing children to learn a new toungue at school is a common practive in most countries worldwide, some people still oppose it and so do I. As children’s mental health is fragile, adding extra pressure in the form of complex linguistic knowledge is not beneficial. Also, teaching children new languages too early can affect the process of accumulating their own languages