Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether governments or private organizations should assume responsibility of scientific research. I am of opinion that this areas should be carried out and managed by the combined efforts from both sides.

The first point to support private companies’ joining is that their competition could help reduce the imbalance in the job market, as they attract more workers to scientific area which has always been attached little attention from job hunters. In fact, given the profit-oriented aiming, private organizations tend to offer high salaries and appealing employee incentives, hoping to seek out talented scientists who can make phenomenal inventions. Similarly beneficial is that private organizations' intervention would tremendously reduce the pressure that government have to shoulder. To explain, scientific research requires a huge budget since it involves invention of sophisticated equipment such as rockets, space shuttle and staff salaries. If being taken and controlled by government only, chances are that there is not enough budget for other more urgent areas like medical, education, environment.

Despite the benefits of private companies’ involvement, it is not to say that government should divert all their responsibilities. Without the management and controlment of authorities, private organizations might make constant inventions regardless of its safe and usability, as they just pay attention the seemingly appealing features to boost sales. For instance, a profit-making organization could introduce a new types of vehicles with faster speed but more pollution released, aiming at those who are not environmentally-friendly users.

To recap, owing to these reasons, it seems to me that both private companies and governments should be jointly responsible for scientist research to guarantee its development as well as the safe of the products invented.