Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Scientific research plays an important role in our modern era. At present, it is argued that whether should governments or private corporations conduct and control the research. In my opinion, I strongly believe that it should be carried out and supervised by the former.

The private sector claims that it is willing to undertake scientific research, but there are two significant dangers in it. From the quality aspect, research conducted by companies might have flawed results due to the fact that they minimize the funding while maximizing its profit. As a result, the outcome is not really reliable and it also leads to adverse consequences. For example, a German company which produced thalidomide caused thousands of births of malformed children many decades ago. Moreover, in terms of ethical perspective, letting private organizations do research into areas like genetic engineering may cause many social effects like environmental pollution. In fact, Genetically – modified crops (GM crops), with unproven effects, may destroy our ecosystems as a result of meddling with nature.

Although governments have to allocate numerous resources to other sets of public spending, scientific research is still extremely important that they are responsible for. Firstly, research can be carried out by university professors or students who have a high standard of professional knowledge. Consequently, the outcome both meets the quality and moral perspective’s expectation. Secondly, funding provided by authorities will be as much as the needs of the expensive genetic science to carry out the research smoothly with various adequate trials. One example is the development of renewable energy to meet highly growing demands.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that governments should take care of scientific research solely. Universities should invest more in their people to offer large numbers of well – qualified scientists in the future.