Scientist and Tourist travel to remote natural environments, such as South Pole. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the proliferation of contemporary lifestyle comes a wide range of the socio-economic phenomenons. Discovering isolated areas is remained as a source of major controversy. from my perspective, I think the disadvantages outweigh its advantages.

On the one hand, people reaching to such distant and bleak places means the technology progression has made an other break through.scientific breakthrough All the needed travelling equipment and professional guidance were not just for scientific research studies, normal people could participate in such dangerous and challengeable exploration, illustrating that places like South Pole are not mysterious to humankind and increasingly more scientific discoveries would be unveiled. Besides, this trend has boosted tourism since many tour packages heading to remote areas have came into market, attracting many explorers’ attention, thus raising the selling of outdoor equipment.

On the other hand, after stepping on the land of those remote places, the continuing human activity could have a devastating effect on the local environment and eco-system. For example , since number of people who could step on the land of North pole has been increasing, rate of poaching and hunting has also surged and many species such as penguins , polar bears, foxes areon the verge of extinction. On top of that, local environment have been exploited, the best illustration is the combustible ice in the north pole, the amount of which experienced a plunge in recent years ,since scientists have found out that this kind of ice could be used as a new energy source. And the result of this was that ices have been cracked and habitats of many species have been destroyed, and animals were forced to search another place to live.

In conclusion, as a result of these aforementioned reasons, the disadvantages of travelling to remote areas outweigh its advantages.