The scientist believes that computers will become more intelligent than human beings. Some people find it is positive while others think it is a negative development. Discuss both points and give your own opinion.

There are a lot of computer scientists who are convinced that when computers become

many times faster than they are now, and more complex, they will be more intelligent than

human beings. Some take it as a blessing where as others take it as a curse. In the following

paragraphs I shall discuss both viewpoints and finally give my opinion.

On the positive side, computer machines or robots can do lots of jobs for human beings and

this saves the labour force to be engaged in other aspects. More and more automated

machines have replaced human labour. Computer manages our banks and the tickets at the

airport are issued by machine-robot. In addition, the robots have entered offices,

departments and houses to help people to work easily and to enjoy longer leisure hours in

their own homes. The computerization certainly relieves human beings from heavy labours.

What is more, robotic surgery is being done to overcome the limitation of human beings

such as trembling of human hands. Microscopic surgeries and eye operations can be better

done with the help of robotic surgeons.

On the downside, if intelligent machine-robots replace human being’s work then this would

cause many to out of work. Unemployment would further cause a lot of problems. What is

more, people would rely too much on computers and become lethargic which would lead to

problems such as obesity. Finally, robots may dominate our world just like what is shown in

our science fiction movies of today.

I believe that computers hold much more information than the human brain possibly can,

but the collective information that is found there came from large groups of human brains

around the world. Without the human brains, computers wouldn’t be available to gather

that information. The computer only has information if a human being adds to the system. A

computer can think to some extent. You can ask it questions and it will give you an

automated answer. It cannot touch the human brain though. Experience is sometimes a

better answer than the mechanical version of it. Human brains certainly outweigh

computers because computers can’t feel. Technology will never be able to create something

that could surpass the incredibly complex and ever changing human.

In conclusion, Artificial Intelligence has both positive and negative effects. What we must do

is make sure that the positive ones are encouraged and negative ones are eliminated as far

as possible. After all it is in our hands not to become slaves of our own technology.