scientists and new media are presenting ever more evidence of climate change. Governments cannot be expected to solve this problem. It is the responsibility of individuals to change the lifestyle to prevent further damage. what are your views

Human activities over the last two centuries have brought about drastic climatic changes. These activities have resulted in global warming and further changes in sea level due to melting glaciers. All these can have severe detrimental effects on the life on earth. Whether it is the responsibility of individuals or the government to make amends is a matter of debate. I strongly feel that ,although, individuals can play a significant role in preventing damage, it is largely the responsibility of government to bring about changes far and wide.

On an individual level, in my opinion , people can be motivated to bring about changes in lifestyle which was favourable for the environment. For example, simple measures like planting trees, using public transport or carpooling can help in reducing the level of green house gases which are responsible for causing climatic changes. Hence , this shows that every human effort is important to bring about a positive impact.

Despite this, I feel it is essential that government setup strict regulations about limiting the use of fossil fuels and promote use of ecologically safe, renewable energy sources on a national and global level. Wildlife Preservation Act serves a good example here. This act has proved to be elemental in preventing deforestation and also protection of flora and fauna worldwide ,thereby, helping to maintain the ecological balance. This example shows the far reaching effects a government initiative can have in reversing environmental damage and preventing climate changes.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that government should take an upper hand in preventing environmental degradation and climate change , augmented by individual effort by all the citizens.