Scientists and technology experts seem to be more valued by modern society than musicians and artists. To what extent do you agree?

In contemporary society, seemingly science and technology experts are of more importance than musicians and artists. I do not agree with this view because the two are equally important, for two reasons that there are still a wide range of opera houses, art museums and galleries supported by the government and that arts also are conducive to the society in many ways.

Firstly, art and music are everywhere, so do artists and musicians. Although impact of advanced technology is manifested in the modern world, proved by the popularisation of mobile phone and tablets, there are still a sea of artistic and musical works popular in the nowadays society. For instance, in western countries, every weekend there are plentiful people going to the musical halls and opera houses to watch some performance, and according to a survey, the visit rates of world-renowned art museums such as national gallery and the Tate in London are still considerably high. And the government funding for these organisations remain steady and above average.

Secondly, art and music are vital and beneficial to the society as a whole. One of the core points is that art and music are in fact created partly for the sake of balancing the negative side-effects of sci-tech. To be more specific, science and technology sometimes can bring scary effects, such as the widespread use of social media, which alienates people in reality, further the distance between people, and even aggravates internet bullying. Whereas by reading more literature, appreciating more artworks and develop apprehension towards music, people could regain humanity and empathy, which makes them more warm-hearted and sympathetic. As a result, the whole world would be a better, more harmonious place to live in, instead of a cold concrete jungle filled with technological products alienating people. There are still plenty of people viewing art as a significant part or even a spiritual pillar of their lives based on these reasons.

In conclusion, artists and musicians are being equally valued in today's world, and I believe in the future, people will continue value art and music as they represent humanity, which is the characteristic of humans.