Some people think that the only way to judge someone's success in business is by the amount of money they make. Is money a true indicator of the success of a business? In what other ways could success in a business be measured?

Many people make a great deal of endeavour to succeed in business. According to some people, the only way to examine people's business success is by the amount of money they earn. However, I hold a contrary view as I believe money is not truly a factor indicating the success of a business. And, success in a business can be gauged by, for example, its employee happiness and contribution to the society. First of all, money is not a true indicator of the success of a business. Although making profits is vital to a company's standing, a company solely making money could not sustain itself for long. A company's sustainability depends not only on the money they make, but depends on the internal level of satisfaction of the employees. Some companies overly exploit their worker, resulting in some mental issues in the workers, such as anxiety and depression. Ultimately, with the accumulation of complaints and negativity in the organisation, employees may go on a strike or overthrow the organisation by all sorts of approaches such as filing a lawsuit, which is fatal for a company's existence. Secondly, a company's contribution to the society should also be taken into account when assessing the value of a company. If a company often donate some assets to the charity, especially during catastrophes or when there are some arising social problems, there would be a wide range of news coverage about this company demonstrating the company's sense of social responsibility , which consequently may immensely enhance a company's reputation in the society. Additionally, people would feel very grateful, thankful and respectful for this company, and would probably purchase more services from this company when admiring and appreciating this company. This would in turn boost the sales of the company which lead to even more economic success. In conclusion, success in a business could not be soley dependent on the profit they generate, but could be measured in plenty of ways such as the sense of satisfaction of the employees and a company's contribution to the society.