Some people claim that newspaper is the best way to get the latest information because it has more influence than other forms of media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that newspaper is the optimal approach to get access to the latest information as it has stronger impact than other types of media. I agree with this claim due to the reasons that newspaper has consistently been the most long-standing media hence its status established amongst the public, and that other forms of media are more difficult to get access to.

To begin with, newspaper, regardless of the old printed or the nowadays electronic versions, is probably the media with the longest history and most credibility for transmission of information. Since the birth of news, there was newspaper produced and edited by humans that get spread out, be it in paper form, note form or any other forms. Additionally, because newspaper is the only formal piece of writing written by official news agencies, the information they transmit tends to be accredited, authentic, trustworthy and reliable. Therefore, newspaper gradually became a symbol of authority that spread the latest information. Whenever there was any scandal, hearsay or breaking news that was going to be dominating the headlines, people resort to newspapers or tabloids.

Secondly, in the contemporary era with advanced technology, there are TV, podcasts, mobile applications, magazines and so on. Seemingly it is more convenient to get access to these types of media. However, they are not as authoritative and influential as newspaper not only because they are not outputs of news agencies, but also because they are more expensive and less accessible. For instance, to read a newspaper, you simply just need to spend few dollars at a newsstand, while to watch TV or listen to podcasts or download an application, one must buy an electronic device first, which could cost hundreds of dollars. Apparently, anyone could afford a newspaper, while not necessarily could afford a TV or podcasts or applications.

To conclude, I hold the view that newspaper is the most long-established, influential media due to not only its authoritative, credible nature but also its greatest accessibility.