Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

Scientists suggest that in the near future, the linguistic barriers would be destroyed because people just use one language over the world. While some people think that it is a negative development, I strongly believe that benefits could outweigh drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is no doubt that speaking only one language has some disadvantages. Firstly, the rich cultural diversity which makes our life more interesting would be lost. Language is a vital connection with cultural identity and people speaking it, so if languages disappear, the young will underestimate the value of their culture and traditions. Secondly, before finding out the official language is suitable to speak, the argument happens among developed countries because no one wants their language to be disappeared. Therefore, it leads to the serious problems such as violence or world war.

On the other hand, breaking down the linguistic barriers brings more benefits than drawbacks. By using the same language, the development of the economy, tourism, education could be boosted thanks to the facilitation of international communication. Moreover, using only one language is a bridge with different cultures and countries. The scientists and students can research and gain knowledge more easily and conveniently since all materials over the world are written in one language. For example, nowadays, some novels and poetries have rhetoric and some sentences that when translated into other languages would be not true and makes this text is devalued.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, although using one language has some disadvantage in the short term, but in the long term, it is necessary and has a large positive effect on the development of the world.