Scientists tell us that some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that, millions of people still continue doing unhealthy activities. What are the causes and what are the solutions for this?

Modern people are regularly informed about the dangers of leading unhealthy lifestyles. Despite the spectacular advances in the medical field, many people are still suffering from and being killed by diseases, most of which are preventable.

There are some reasons why there is still a prevalent habit of doing unhealthy activities. This can be, firstly, explained by the fact that most people are prone to undue optimism. Although powerful and constant reminders of what unsound lifestyles can bring is readily available everywhere, people still keep the faith that they would hardly be inflicted. Even for those who are aware, they are often in denial and convince themselves that unhealthy habits are not as terrible as the media want them to believe. Secondly, once people are addicted to unhealthy habits, it is very difficult for them to break. For example, people with smoking habits cannot reduce their dependency on cigarettes due to its high addictiveness, or people with sedentary lifestyles are unable to bring themselves to be more active on the simple grounds that exercises are not pleasurable.

To address this problems, multiple solutions can be proposed. One of which is imposing higher taxes on unhealthy products, such as food with high concentration of fat, alcohol or cigarettes. This solution promises direct impacts. Moreover, healthy lifestyles should be further promoted and likewise unhealthy lifestyles should be strictly criticised on the media. With a sense of self-protection and knowledge that everybody around them practise the same habit, I believe that people would find it easier to break their old self-destructive lifestyles.