Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are the best ways to help them. Do you agree or disagree?

People assume that the only rational reason for a prison is to restrain those who are violent, while helping them to change their behavior and return to the community. Regarding that opinion, a proportion suggests that using educational methods and applying vocational training perform an optimizing effectiveness compared to putting criminals into jail. Personally, a sharp agreement is my point of views.

Firstly, probation and parole fail to educate criminals as the recidivism is significant high in majority countries. Due to statistics, there are four out of ten prisoners being re-arrested within four years of liberation, often with a more serious and violent offense. Moreover, this rate has an increasing tendency to reach 50% after six years of leaving prison. Consequently, imprisoning criminals is not considered as an appropriate method to transform prisoners into a better citizens.

Secondly, education and job training can not only help to improve offenders attitudes, but also offer them a visual chance to find a job and settle down after releasing. Based on a study in San Francisco jail, an intensive re-educational program with violent male offenders reduced the level of violence in the jail to zero for a year at a time. This means prisoners who received the proper education had a significant positive change in awareness and attitude, leading to rehabilitated criminals are less likely to re-offend. Additionally, the percentage of recidivism also reduced to 93% after the offenders succeeded in having a job.

In conclusion, it is obviously that education and vocational training can address the root causes of crime. These methods have a possibility of reducing first crime as well as recidivism rate, which are the realistic solutions that help to maintain the stable for our societies.